Tags

, , , , ,


My love life came to a stand still when Mr. Black decided consistency was over-rated, and disappeared out of my life. I can’t blame the guy, and I don’t. There was a large age gap (14 years to be exact), and he had broken his engagement just a month before the wedding last year. I may have dodged a bullet on this one, ladies. I usually stay away from the guys that are no good for me, but there was something about this one that made him hard to shake. I had to admit that he got me. He had me right where any man would have wanted to have me: right in the palm of his hand, wrapped around his perfectly manicured little finger. And I liked every minute of it, because it meant that he was in my life, and I (to some degree) was in his. It’s hard to walk away from someone who is the epitome of everything that you ever wanted in a man. But I had to take a step back and examine the situation a bit more thoroughly this time. Was what I wanted different from what I needed?

I have come to terms that Mr. Black has made his final appearance on the Dating Chronicles of My Life, but that hasn’t stop this nagging feeling in the back of my head that, hey!, maybe he’ll call and apologize, and want to start over. Not likely. You can’t have a wish be the birth of a thought. I have rehearsed over and over again what I will say to him if and when he does return. It’s polite and rude at the same time. It builds him up, then tears him down. It’s the perfect ‘Fuck you, I don’t need you, but I’m sure you’re  a great guy’ speech. Will I ever have the chance to tell him said speech? Stay tuned….

As for what I am doing to get over Mr. Black? I am doing what any sane, New York gal would do. GO ON ANOTHER DATE. After being thoroughly disgusted with the situation with Mr. Black, I threw on my short little skirt, brand new heels, and sexy lace top, grabbed my girlfriend and headed to the City. As I walking out of my house I told my mom (yes I still live at home, working on it though!! I have a move out date!) as she asked my friend and I where we were going, I answered: “We’re gonna find me a man!!” And find me a man we did. 🙂

My girlfriend and I ended up in the über chic, meatpacking district in the city. At one of our favorites bars, we danced, drank, and generally had a good time with just the two of us. We moved from one room of the bar to the outer room, and caught the eyes of two gentlemen. One of which was chubby and short, but the other gentleman was a tall glass of ‘DAMN BOY!’ Since my friend had a boyfriend at the time, I had dibs. He wasn’t what I usually went for, but since he had sex appeal, I decided to give him a chance. Plus, I promised my friend that I would start dating outside the box because of all the success I was having dating what I thought was my ‘type’.

Chubbs started talking to me first, but naturally, His Sexiness and I gravitated towards each other. He was fun, outgoing, humorous, and sexy. This could be my new type. After taking shots at the bar, and dancing a little bit, we decided to hit up another spot, but the NYPD had other plans for us.  Both His Sexiness and I ended up getting our cars towed that night.

I can’t say that it was a total loss that night, because I shine in the face of adversity.  I took control of the situation, and tried to find his car (before finding out that my car was subsequently towed, as well). I called both impounds in NYC, while he was on the phone with 311 going nowhere. Hello Google!! Found his car within minutes, hopped in a cab, and headed to the impound lot. Luckily, my car was there, too. He was impressed. I could tell by the stupid, boyish grin that was creeping across his face when he looked at me while I spoke to the woman at the impound over the phone.

Because of this experience he was able to see a different, less drunk and belligerent side of me. A side he apparently liked, because we have been on two dates thus far (including brunch –fancy, eh?), and still haven’t gotten physical yet. Wish I could say the same for Mr. Black and I.  We had a full on make out sesh on the first date! Not good.

I can see how I am behaving differently with His Sexiness.  I’m limiting my alcoholic intake, and how physical it gets between us. So far the closest we’ve gotten was thumb wrestling (we were in traffic and bored), and I let him win.

I am showing him that I respect myself, and in turn, he’s shown respect for me. He hasn’t tried any funny business on me. He’s polite, and he respects my boundaries. I intend to take this very slow, something I usually don’t do. I am excited to see where this goes, but I’m in no rush.

‘Til Next Time Lovelies

XOXO

Shoes Over Booze

