Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,


It has been exactly 3 months and 1 day since I quit my job.  It wasn’t a job so much as a torture fest I attended to for 40 hours a week, and was compensated meagerly for. But I stand (or sit, standing and typing is hard to do) before you now gainfully employed! FINALLY! Just when I thought all hope was lost, I get an email from a law firm I interviewed with back in November. I thought I did really well on the interview. The interviewer actually said he was impressed–out loud, to my face. So, naturally I thought I landed the job, easy-peasy.  

When a month had gone by and I hadn’t heard anything from him, I just wrote the entire opportunity off, and forgot about it. Interestingly enough, I received the email while on my way back from an interview. his timing couldn’t have been better.  Every time I meet with these recruiters, they build up these opportunities they have, and never call you. So my hopes were diminishing just as I received that email. It was like a weight was lifted off my chest. I could breathe again. I could start planning my next move, start looking for an apartment, and buy a new car. 2013 was looking better already. 

This got me thinking about something I saw in the movie, ‘The Secret’.  It was something one of the contributors to this wonderfully uplifting and inspiring movie, James Arthur Ray, had talked about.  He made references to Aladdin and his Genie. Aladdin would make a wish and the Genie would say, ‘Your wish is my command.’ No questions asked, He would just grant Aladdin whatever it was he wished for. To James, this is exactly how the universe works as well. We just make a wish and the universe says, ‘Your wish is my command.” All we have to do is sit back and wait for it to come to fruition (and believe without a doubt, and visualize it, of course). However, James also says that a lot of us are guilty of giving up too easily when we don’t see results fast enough. It happens just when our wish is about to break ground, and we don’t see any changes we throw our hands up in the air, and say ‘This stuff doesn’t work.’ So, the universe says, ‘Your wish is my command,’ and the plant that was about to break ground and finally see the light, goes back down. 

I have to admit that I was very guilty of this.  I didn’t think I would ever find a job. I put my wish out there to the universe, but I didn’t get anything in return. All I got were pushy, sometimes useless recruiters. I was tired of looking. Tired of waiting on a call, or an email. Or finding out my temp-to-perm situation was really only temp until the moronic permanent guy came in. (seriously, this guy was a complete imbecile, I couldn’t believe he was sought out and hired–and I was the one who was unemployed).  Just when I was ready to throw in the towel, BOOM! I land a job!

The power of positive thinking, vision boards, and visualization never cease to amaze me. Even though I snagged a job, I didn’t quite get the salary I was hoping for, but I got everything else! A great boss, we spoke about everything besides the actual job for 45 min! A super cool staff in a laid back environment.  I can sacrifice a few dollars from my salary for a comfortable work environment. And not to mention some great perks and benefits. So why not?! It’s better than holding out for a job with a great salary, and a shitty work environment. It’s really important to me to be happy at work, so I really believe I made the right choice here. 

I can’t wait to get back out there! 

‘Til next time lovers

x0x0 

ShoesOverBooze

