Some incredible things have happened lately, which attributes to my being MIA these last couple of months.

My sister got married and moved away to Rhode Island (pours out a fawtey on the curb). The wedding was one big blur, I’m sure I had fun, but I can’t remember any of it. All I remember is running around to make sure I said hello to everyone I needed to say hello to (still missing a few family members), and making a mad dash to the dance floor every time ‘our song’ came on–which was plenty of times. It was one of the best weddings I’ve been to in a while, and I’m not just saying that because it was my sister’s wedding. My sister and my bro in law (wow that feels weird to say) put on a show. They choreographed a whole dance as their first dance. All the guests lost their minds when the DJ stopped their slow dance and  remixed in Jagged Edge’s “Let’s Get Married”. It was super cute!

And as the Maid of Honor (bow down bitches! jk!! 🙂 ), I was tasked with giving a speech. My sister actually had two Maids of Honor, my cute little Lebanese aunt and I. Since we both knew that his best men (yes, he had to match my sister’s indecisiveness with two best men) were pretty funny, charismatic guys who would definitely steal the show, we couldn’t let that happen. So my aunt actually came up with the idea that we should rap our speeches. You read that correctly. We RAPPED our speeches!

I could tell you all about it, but it’s just so much easier to show you!

My sister and my brother in law had no idea, and they loved it! Everyone else was caught off guard too! My aunt didn’t even know who Biggie was until right before the wedding, but she did an amazing job 🙂 .

Between my sister getting married and moving away, and my rapping debut, I’ve also been interviewing for a couple of companies. As you know, I haven’t exactly been happy with my current situation, and I’m not one to complain and hope that things change, I do something about it. It has been a long two months of phone interviews, emails, and finally in person interviews.

I was interviewing with two companies that ended up BOTH extending offers to me. While I was flattered, I was confused. I got the call early Thursday afternoon from the HR Coordinator at the company I had really been pining for. I was shaking in my boots. I didn’t know if at the end of this conversation I would be smiling or in tears.  I was talking to a co-worker when I saw the NYC phone number I recognized from our previous conversations pop up on my phone. I picked up and he said that everyone I had interviewed with really liked me. I was waiting for the “but…we went with someone else”. When it comes to interviewing, and looking for another job, no matter how qualified you are, you always feel like you’re never good enough. But there was no but. They offered me the job, and I gladly accepted.

Later that evening, I got a call from the other company I had been interviewing with, and they had wanted to fly me out to their HQ’s in the middle of no where, for another interview. I stopped him mid-sentence to tell him I had accepted an offer earlier that day. I was a little agitated to be honest. I have been interviewing with this company for two months, spoken to and Skyped with 5 of your team members, and that still isn’t enough? Who else could be left to talk to? Your mother? Christ, make a decision already!

He was upset that I was going with the other company, and surprised that I was interviewing with other prospects. Excuse me, sir? Who puts all their eggs in one basket when they’re on the job hunt? It seemed they did because I got a job offer 30 minutes later from him offering me A LOT more money. I heard the number and it made my other offer seem like peanuts in comparison. But it was the company that I really wanted to work for, the salary didn’t matter so much. Yes it’s definitely a factor, but I was looking for opportunities to grow with a company, and finally having a career, and not just a job. It was a once in a lifetime opportunity. I called my sister and my friend who worked in HR for advice. My HR guru/best friend told me to do what was best for me, and she told me to go with my initial offer. It was the better company, and the second company didn’t seem to have their shit together. C’mon…two months and this interview process still ain’t over?? Lawd, give me a break!

I was still confused as I laid in bed that night, and the excitement I felt when I first heard those words “we’d like to offer you the position” wore off, and basically tarnished by the second offer, I started to get angry. Angry at the idea of someone else taking my initial offer and working for this awesome company. Fuck that. I made my decision. I am taking the initial offer.

So I respectfully declined their offer, and I am excited to start my new job in less than two weeks!

I will be back in New York City, which will be a nice change of pace from my dreary and boring New Jersey commute. Ahhh…New York City. That is exactly where a twenty-something belongs. NOT Jersey. “Jersey is for the moms” as my office manager puts it.

I’m looking forward to this new chapter in my life. My sister has moved away, leaving the house feeling empty. She was my best friend, and now she’s starting her own new chapter. I’m looking forward to this exciting new career at this amazing company.

Changes are coming! Sometimes change can be scary, and I hate change, but sometimes change is necessary…and exciting!

XXOO

Shoes Over Booze

